Skip to content ↓

Protected Characteristics

At The Hart School we are committed to ensuring all our students have equality of opportunity. The Equality Act became law in 2010 and this protects people from discrimination. 

We want all our students to develop into students who are proud and respectful of themselves and each other regardless of their characteristics. We are keen for our students to be able to celebrate and respect the diversity in our society and community. 

Our school culture and ethos is designed around developing the following core values and characteristics:

  • Happy
  • Ambition
  • Resilient
  • Tolerant

How do we do this?

The list below is by no means an exhaustive list but an illustration of what we do:

  • Our core values
  • Role modelling of adults 
  • Curriculum content across all subjects
  • Through our behaviour policy 
  • Assemblies
  • A comprehensive tutorial programme that develops students ability to consider and discuss relevant and topical issues 
  • PSHE programme 
  • RE lessons
  • Sporting, Art and Cultural Events
  • Educational visits
  • Charity events

What are Protected Characteristics?

Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics:

  • Disability
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Age
  • Gender reassignment
  • Marriage or civil partnership
  • Sexual orientation
  • Pregnancy and maternity

You are protected from discrimination:

  • at work
  • in education
  • as a consumer
  • when using public services
  • when buying or renting property
  • as a member or guest of a private club or association

You are also protected from discrimination if:

  • you are associated with someone who has a protected characteristic, for example a family member or friend
  • you have complained about discrimination or supported someone else’s claim